## **Press Release**

October 14, 2001

## Youth Congress's Massive Demonstration Against Corrupt NDA Government: President and Thousands of Youth Congress Workers Arrested by the Police

Today, under the leadership of its President Shri Randeep Singh Surjewala, Indian Youth Congress organized a massive demonstration against the corrupt NDA government. Thousands of Youth Congress workers vehemently opposed the proposed inclusion of tented and corrupt politicians like Shri George Fernandes's into the Union Cabinet.

Addressing the huge gathering Shri Randeep Singh Surjewala lambasted the dubious motive of the Vajpayee government. He appealed to the Youth Congress workers to throng the streets to oppose NDA government's move to include corrupt leaders like Shri George Fernandes and Shri Bangaru Laxman again in the Union Cabinet. He said, "The Congress party would oppose this move tooth and nail on streets and as well as in the Parliament. This corrupt government is hell bent upon corrupting the whole nation. The government must desist from appointing the accused and should wait for the tabling of the final report of the panel on Tehlka expose."

Questioning the credibility of NDA government, Shri Randeep Singh Surjewala said, "Vajpayee can go to any extent to save his chair. In the last session of the Parliament, Prime Minister assured the House that he will not induct any tented person again into the government and the Tehlka scam probe will handed over to the Commission headed by a sitting judge of the Supreme Court. By not adhering to his promises **Shri Atal Behari Vajpayee has breached the sanctity of the Parliament. And, he must resign from the office."** 

"By appointment corrupt people in high offices this government has given the clear indication of its priorities. Appointment of Shri Bangaru Laxman as the Chairman of Housing Committee of Parliament is an explicit example of the government's motive of making the whole nation corrupt. His appointment is totally unjustifiable, how a person can be entrusted with such a responsibility, whom the entire nation has seen on television accepting bundles of notes amounting Rs One Lakh as bribe? The Youth Congress will intensely oppose such malign moves."

Shri Surjewala demanded that the **all the corrupt persons involved in number of scams that have shocked the nation during NDA regime, should be immediately put behind the bars.** Announcing a nation wide campaign against corrupt NDA government, he said, "The government must desist from promoting and injecting corruption into public life otherwise the Youth Congress will launch a massive nation wide movement and ensure the ouster of this corrupt government."

...Continued.

The demonstrators thronged the streets early in the morning and started marching towards the Prime Minister's Office. On the way, they were forcefully stopped by the strong contingent of police. Despite the heavy 'police bandobast', the Youth Congress workers managed to go to Parliament Street and started marching towards the Parliament. The police cuffed and chased the demonstrators. Later on, **Shri Randeep Singh Surjewala along with General Secretary IYC, Shri Anil Bhardwaj, Youth Congress Presidents of Haryana, Punjab and Delhi and thousands of workers were also arrested by the Police and brought to the Parliament Street Police Station and criminal charges were framed against them.** The demonstrators were raising slogans like, "Atal Behari Gaddi Choro", "Roji-Roti De Na Sake Jo Woh Sarkar Nikkami Hai" and "Bhrastachariyon Ko Girfataar karo".

The gathering was also addressed by Shri Rajesh Lilothia, President Delhi Youth Congress; Sardar Devender Singh 'Baboo', President Punjab Youth Congress; Sardar Satvinder Singh Sandhu 'Timmy', President Haryana Youth Congress; and Shri Krishanveer Mayna, Incharge of Haryana and Punjab Youth Congress.

The prominent among others who participated in the demonstration include Maj. Ved Prakash, Secretary AICC; Shri Anil Bhardwaj, General Secretary IYC; Shri Shiv Nath Sharma, Shri Vijay Gupta, Shri Satpal, Smt. Sumitra Chauhan, Shri Pradeep Jaildar, Shri Laxman Rawat, Shri Pawan Dewan and District Youth Congress Presidents Shri Satish Sharma, Shri Jitendra Agarwal, Shri Tapsiram and Shri Sandeep Kumar.

Nearly 80,000 students in seven districts of Haryana have been on strike for last one month. Chautala government has curbed the student-youth movement by mercilessly beating girls-boys as also by lodging fake criminal cases against student-youth leaders. Widespread student-youth unrest has arisen on account of dictatorial decision of Lok Dal government in disaffiliating colleges of five districts, namely Jind, Bhiwani, Fatehabad, Hisar and Kaithal from the prestigious Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra and Maharshi Dayanand University, Rohtak and compulsorily affiliating them to the newly carved out and unrecognized Devi Lal University, Sirsa. Anger of student-youth community has also resulted out of unprecedented fee hike of 25% to 300% for all graduate and post-graduate courses taking the education beyond the reach of common man and poor in Haryana.

We, at the Indian Youth Congress, have been in the forefront of this student-youth movement. Over 10,000 youth activists held a massive rally and proceeded to 'Gherao' the Haryana Legislative Assembly at Chandigarh on 9<sup>th</sup> Sept., 2003, i.e., opening day of the session, on the issues elaborated above. Aided by Haryana Police commandoes, Chandigarh Police resorted to water canons and mild lathi charge. Pursuant thereto, undersigned, PYC Chief and three national office bearers were arrested and lodged in Burail Central Jail, Chandigarh. We were bailed out on the evening of 10<sup>th</sup> Sept., 2003. Meanwhile, agitations have continued all over the State with many office bearers of the Youth Congress still detained in different districts.

Such suppressive measures have never deterred us from continuing our fight. A few press-clippings are attached herewith for your kind perusal.

Warm regards,

Yours sincerely,

(RANDEEP SINGH SURJEWALA)

Shri Abhishek M. Singhavi, Hon'ble Spokesperson, AICC.