Indian Youth CongressState Specific Agitation

Jharkhand Vijay Diwas, Ranchi, Jharkhand

State Reorganisation Bill leading to creation of a separate State of Jharkhand was finally passed by Rajya Sabha on 11th August, 2000.

Led by IYC President, Mr. Randeep Singh Surjewala, Indian Youth Congress organised a massive rally billed as "Jharkhand Vijay Diwas" and followed it up with a victory procession through the city of Ranchi in order to highlight the fact that Congress party and our Hon'ble Congress President have made the creation of State of Jharkhand possible to fulfill the aspirations of people.

We particularly pointed out the fact that Congress party is the sole political organization that has taken consistent strides to develop the Jharkhand region in independent India. While Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru set up basic heavy industry including steel plants, Mrs. Indira Gandhi proceeded to nationalize Coal Mines in 1971 besides setting up major projects such as Damodar Valley Corporation, a fertilizer plant in Dhanbad, Unit of Hindustan Cooper Limited, Heavy Engineering Corporation, setting up major Thermal Power projects such as Kenughat NTPC, Patratu Thermal Plant, Sikadari Thermal Plant and major Hydro Electric projects such as Kailai Dam, Maitan Dam, etc.

In 1976-77, Smt. Gandhi proceeded to constitute Jharkhand Regional Congress Committee and than Jharkhand Development Board and a separate Civil Secretariat, etc. It was finally Shri Rajiv Gandhi who constituted a 'High Powered Committee' to explore various options and finally created "Jharkhand Autonomous Development Council" in 1994.

We particularly emphasized the fact that it were the untiring efforts and firm stance of hon'ble Congress President, Smt. Sonia Gandhi that ensured passing of a resolution in Bihar Legislative Assembly for creation of a separate State of Jharkhand - a resolution that could not be passed in last assembly despite Jharkhand Mukti morcha of Sh. Shibhu Shoren extending help to the Govt. of Sh. Lallu Yadav. Further, it was the deep commitment of Hon'ble Congress President alone that saw a smooth passage for the bill in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

These Are the Clippings


Be a friend of


Share your thoughts with

 © Copyright 2011 Block Congress Committee, Kaithal Randeep Singh Surjewala, All Rights Reserved.