Indian Youth CongressIndian Youth Congress
The Indian Youth Congress is the youth wing of the Indian National Congress Party, the largest democratic youth organisation in the world.

The Indian Youth Congress was a department of the Indian National Congress from the period just after 1947 until the late 1960s. While prime minister, Indira Gandhi gave the Youth Congress a new dimension by establishing it as a frontal organisation of the Congress Party, with the objective of doing social work and arguing against right-wing parties. Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi was the first elected governor of the Indian Youth Congress; he later became Minister of Information and Broadcasting and Parliamentary affairs in the Indian cabinet. Narayan Dutt Tiwari was the first President.

Smt. Sonia Gandhi, Hon’ble Congress President, gave a new ‘MANTRA’ to the Youth Congress – “Service, Leadership & Vision”.

This has been the inspiring ideology behind a range of activities-agitational, service oriented, constructive and of the meaningful criticism of government policies, undertaken by Indian Youth Congress and its state units. Besides effectively implementing the call given by the Hon’ble Congress President and the Congress Party from time to time, Youth Congress has played a front line traditional role of agitational politics and constructive nation building activities.

For more infomation, visit Indian Youth Congress Website

IYC President, Shri Randeep Singh Surjewala presenting National Executive & State Presidents Resolution committing unflinching support of Youth Congress Cadre in the Country to Smt. Sonia Gandhi on 9th Nov 2000 Randeep has been President of Indian Youth Congress From March 2000 to Feb 2005. During his presidentship activities of the Youth Congress can be broadly summarized as under:

Be a friend of


Share your thoughts with

 © Copyright 2011 Block Congress Committee, Kaithal Randeep Singh Surjewala, All Rights Reserved.