Indian Youth CongressNational Agitations

Massive Kisan Panchayat cum Tractor Rally

Hon'ble Congress President, Smt. Sonia Gandhi had moved a historical 'Adjournment Motion' on 22nd November, 2000 for amelioration of ever worsening condition of farming community in view of BJP's anti poor, anti-farmer economic policies. On failure of NDA Govt. to see reason on the floor of parliament, Smt. Gandhi has decided to take the battle on the streets and gave a clarion call on 11th December, 2000 to all Congressmen to wage a political war on issues dear to farmers and villagers.

Indian Youth Congress reacted within 72 hours of the call of Hon'ble Congress President.

On 14th December 2000, Indian Youth Congress Organised a massive Kisan Panchayat cum Tractor Rally. Tractor being the symbol of farming and village community, nearly 25,000 young farmers had descended to Delhi on their 5,000 tractors in response to the call of Hon'ble Congress President, Smt. Sonia Gandhi.

On 13th December 2000. Home Ministry banned the rally and entry of tractors in Delhi. Farmers were lathi Charged on Najafgarh border, Gurgaon border, Nizamuddin Bridge etc.. 3000 tractors were stopped at the borders and police forcibly turned them back. Undeterred, young youth activists sat on a peaceful dharna. Finally, Government of India relented at 1:30 am in the night and permission was granted for holding of rally behind Red Fort.

1268 tractors and thousands of farmers arrived at spot braving the extreme cold conditions and brutalities of police.

A massive rally cum demonstration was held the next day i.e. 14th December 2000 which was addressed by senior most Congress leaders including Shri Madhavrao Scindia, Smt. Ambika Soni, Shri Oscar Farnandes, Shri Motilal Vora, Smt. Prabha Rau, Shri Sushil Kumar Shinde, Ch. Natwar Singh, Ch. Balram Jhakar, Shri Mukul Wasnik, Shri Yoganand Shastri, Shri Sajjan Kumar, Shri Satyanarayan Rao and others.

These Are the Clippings
These Are the Clippings


Be a friend of


Share your thoughts with

 © Copyright 2011 Block Congress Committee, Kaithal Randeep Singh Surjewala, All Rights Reserved.